Virginia Invasive Species

About the Working Group

About the Invasive Species Working Group

In 2009, the General Assembly passed legislation (see the bill here >>) that established the state's commitment to addressing the invasive species that threaten the Commonwealth through cooperation and coordination of government agencies, the business community, conservation organizations, and public citizens. The legislation directs the Secretaries of Natural Resources and Agriculture and Forestry to "coordinate the development of strategic actions to be taken by the Commonwealth, individual state and federal agencies, private business, and landowners related to invasive species prevention, early detection and rapid response, control and management, research and risk assessment, and education and outreach."

The legislation builds on work achieved through previous legislation and executive directives. The Secretary of Natural Resources is tasked as chair and the Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry as vice-chair of the Invasive Species Working Group (ISWG). Current members of the ISWG listed below.

Read the 2018 Virginia Invasive Species Management Plan (PDF).

Virginia Invasive Species Working Group members, with alternates

The Honorable Travis A. Voyles
Chairman of the Working Group
Acting Secretary of Natural and Historic Resources
Patrick Henry Building
1111 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA  23219
Natural.Resources@governor.virginia.gov

The Honorable Matthew Lohr
Vice-Chair of the Working Group
Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry
Patrick Henry Building
1111 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA  23219
Agriculture.Forestry@Governor.Virginia.Gov

Joseph Guthrie, Commissioner
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
1100 Bank Street
Richmond, VA  23219
(804) 786-3501, Joseph.Guthrie@vdacs.virginia.gov
Alternate: Larry Nichols
(804) 786-3515, Larry.Nichols@vdacs.virginia.gov

Rob Farrell, State Forester
Department of Forestry
Fontaine Research Park
900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 800
Charlottesville, VA  22903
(434) 977-6555, Rob.Farrell@dof.virginia.gov
Alternate: Lori Chamberlin
(434) 220-9026, Lori.Chamberlin@dof.virginia.gov

Ryan Brown, Director
Department of Wildlife Resources
7870 Villa Park Dr., Suite 400 (Villa 3)
Henrico, VA  23228
(804) 367-9231, Ryan.Brown@dwr.virginia.gov
Alternate: TBD

Matthew Wells, Director
Department of Conservation and Recreation
600 East Main Street, 24th Floor
Richmond, VA  23219
(804) 786-2123, Matthew.Wells@dcr.virginia.gov
Alternate: Jason Bulluck
(804) 7867951, Jason.Bulluck@dcr.virginia.gov

Mike Rolband, Director
Department of Environmental Quality
629 East Main Street
PO Box 1105
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 698-4020, Michael.Rolband@DEQ.Virginia.gov

Jamie Green, Commissioner
Marine Resources Commission
2600 Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor
Newport News, VA  23607
(757) 247-2200, Jamie.Green@mrc.virginia.gov
Alternate: TBD

Colin Greene, Commissioner
Department of Health
109 Governor Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Steven C. Brich, Commissioner
Department of Transportation
1401 E. Broad Street
Richmond, VA  23219
(804) 786-2701, Steven.Brich@vdot.virginia.gov
Alternate: Brian Waymack
(804) 786-0967, Brian.Waymack@vdot.virginia.gov

Derek Aday, Director
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
P.O. Box 1346
Gloucester Point, Virginia 23062-1346
(804) 684-7103, aday@vims.edu
Alternate: Roger Mann
(804) 684-7360, rmann@vims.edu

currently vacant -- Commercial
Dominion Energy
5000 Dominion Boulevard
Glen Allen, VA 23060

Marshall Saunders -- Agriculture Industry
Virginia Nursery and Landscaping Association 
2717 Tye Brook Hwy, Piney River, VA 22964
(434) 277-5455, mbsaunders@saundersbrothers.com

Nicole Rovner -- Conservation Community
The Nature Conservancy
530 E. Main Street, Suite 800
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 644-5800 ext. 121, nrovner@tnc.org

Troy Morris, US Forest Service
Planning & Forest Ecology Group Staff Officer
George Washington and Jefferson National Forests
5162 Valleypointe Parkway
Roanoke, VA 24019-3050
540-953-3560, troymorris@fs.fed.us

Jacob Barney, Ph.D. -- Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Department of Plant Pathology, Physiology and Weed Science
Glade Road Research Center (0330)
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0330
(540) 231-6323, jnbarney@vt.edu

 

Invasive Species Advisory Committee

 

The Advisory Committee is comprised of local, state, and federal agency experts, university researchers, representatives of nongovernmental organizations, private business, and other concerned citizens. Participation on the Advisory Committee is subject to the approval of the Working Group. The Advisory Committee provides information and advice to the Working Group and makes recommendations for action to achieve the goals of the management plan.